Member Planning
This article explains how to use member planning option in Agility.
Overview
The Member Planning page is divided into the following three sections so you can see a roll up of all the work in the current sprint by a member. The Member Planning page enables you to determine work allocation total for each member, determine if anyone is overloaded or under-loaded, and reassign work if needed.
-
Sprint Summary
-
Members
-
No Owners
If team members are pairing on a task or other item and it is assigned to two owners, that task will show up under each of the owners. Customize the grid to view the Allocated versions of the Detail Estimate and To Do columns instead of the default columns. The Allocated columns factor in the pairing, allowing you to see appropriate rollup totals for each member.
The grid at the bottom of the page can be used by teams who work in a queue structure. Once a team member completes a workitem, the member can view this list to find the next available workitem, assign it to themselves, and begin work on it.
Assign Work to Members
Assign Workitem to Member
Follow these steps to use the Member Planning page to assign a workitem to a member:
-
Click the hamburger menu
Sprint > Member Planning.
-
Scroll down to the No Owners grid, then double-click on a row to make it editable.
-
Place your cursor in the Owners look up field, and then select a name from the list.
- If the member's name is not displayed, type three characters in their name to see a list of matching names.
-
Repeat Step 2 to add the remaining owners.
-
Click Save.
If a member's name does not display in the Members grid, make sure their Project Role has write access to the project and the Owner List checkbox is selected:
- Click the hamburger menu
Administration > Project Roles.
- Click the Manage button next to the member's name.
- Select the project role, and then select the small check box next to the New Project Role or Owner List.
Assign Workitem Owner
To assign ownership of a workitem to a specific user:
-
Click the hamburger menu
Sprint > Member Planning.
-
In the Members grid, click on the + symbol next to the member's name to see the list of workitems assigned to them.
-
Locate a workitem, and then double-click on a row to make it editable.
-
In the Owner field, type the first 3 characters in a member's name to see a list of matching names, and then select it.
- If you want to remove an owner, click on the x next to the name.
-
Repeat the previous step to add the remaining owners.
-
Click Save.
Remove Owner from Workitem
You can use the Member Planning page to remove workitems from a member's backlog and move it back to the No Owners grid with a status of "Unassigned":
- Click the hamburger menu
> Sprint > Member Planning.
- In the Members grid, click on the + symbol next to the member's name to see the list of workitems assigned to them.
- Locate the workitem you want to unassign, and then double-click on a row to make it editable.
- Place your cursor in the Owners field, and then click on the x next to each team member's name.
- Click Save.
Work with Member Planning
Reassign Workitems
If necessary to reassign workitems, select a new team member in the Owner field, and click Save.
Verify Complete Coverage
The No Owners grid at the bottom of the page displays items not owned by anyone. Use this grid to verify that all workitems have an owner. An empty grid means every workitem has an owner.
Use Work Queues
The No Owners grid can be used by teams who work in a queue structure. Once a team member completes a workitem, the member can view this list to find the next available workitem, assign it to themselves, and begin work on it.
View Workitems with Multiple Owners
Display the Allocated columns (see Customizing Your View section below) when multiple owners are assigned to a single item. This divides the Detail Estimate and/or remaining To Do amounts by the number of owners, showing a more accurate picture of each person's workload.
Use History as a Guide
Use the Summary table at the top of the page to compare rollup values of the current sprint's contents with that of the last closed sprint.
Change Multiple Backlog Items at Once
To perform a bulk action on multiple rows (such as moving several items to a new project or theme), use the multi-select menu:
- Select the check box next to each item you want to change.
- Select an action from the multi-select menu. Your changes are applied to all the rows you selected.
Unlike dragging and dropping, multi-select actions only apply to the items selected. They do not apply to child items. For example, if you select a portfolio item to move it to a new project, the stories, tests, and defects do not automatically move along with it. To move the related child items, you must select each one you want to move.
Customize Your View
Digital.ai Agility allows you to customize the way you view data in the grid.
Export Your Data
Click on the toolbar icon and select Export (.xls) to export the contents of the table to Excel. See Export for more details.
Reports Available
The following reports are available on the Member Planning page:
- Member Load Trend: Shows the total amount of detail estimate delivered (historical) or planned (future) for each selected sprint
- Member Group Load Trend: Shows the amount of work assigned to a member group for the selected sprint over a period of time
- Velocity Trend: Bar chart showing the total amount of backlog estimate completed and delivered over a series of sprints
- Burndown: Shows the progression of a team through a set of work by displaying a series of snapshots of the remaining and completed work